My Love Hate Relationship with Summer

The kids are now out of school and it’s the unofficial start to Summer! I used to love Summers as a kid. My mom would let us run wild around our block or two around the house. We would spend days at the pool. We’d go to the library every week or so. July 4th, would mean going to grandma and grandpa’s house, swimming all day, and fireworks while we sat on the pool deck eating snacks. Cool showers after being out in the sun. Watching it rain from my front step with friends and my brother. Not being bothered by bug bites.

I’ve talked previously About how Summers are not the same anymore. Some things still piss me off. It’s annoying to the point that I’ll probably list some things here again.

Let’s talk about love and hate, shall we?

❤️ Being at the pool on a hot day

✖️ That I never get to go

❤️ Being outside in the evenings

✖️ Bugs and mosquitoes

❤️ Produce stands and local ice cream shops open for the summer

✖️ the long lines and it makes the visits less frequent

❤️ My kids are out of school and the mornings as less stressful

✖️ My kids don’t want to go to bed at a decent time

❤️ Being outside and seeing color; the flowers, trees, bees, etc.

✖️ Allergies

I think you kinda get the jist, here.

We all need Summer though. The kids need a break from school. They need to get outside and be wild for a while.

For me, it’s tough. I wish I could be home with my kids during the summers, for multiple reasons. The obvious reason would be that I would be able to do things with my kids and be available for them. They ask me frequently if I’ll be home when they are out of school.

The other, main reason, is that, whatever I try to set up or do over the Summer, doesn’t matter. I’ve tried charts, I’ve done snack baskets, I’ve even tried chore charts for the school year like one or two things to do after school. It doesn’t happen.

When AJ and I are not at home, things don’t happen. I’m beyond frustrated and AJ knows it. But when things are brought up, it’s like beating a dead horse.

AJ and I frequently talk about ways we can fix or make the situation better. I don’t like the ideas we’ve come up with. It’s one thing to make a choice when you’re ready versus when you feel forced. It’s also a lot at stake for us. The choices we have, do not keep us moving forward; it sets us back. I’m not about backtracking at this point in my life.

Like I’ve said on many occasions, we do the best we can, we pray we are doing right by our kids, help set them up for success, and keep showing up for them.

I know I’m not alone in this Summer sadness, mom guilt BS. If you’ve ever felt like this or have ideas or want to share what you love and hate about Summer, leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

💋


Support me! If you enjoy my content you can now support me monetarily for the price of one coffee. Just click the link 👉 Buy Me a Coffee

7 replies to “My Love Hate Relationship with Summer

    1. I definitely feel that. It’s always the “mom, are you going to be home tomorrow?” And I have to tell them no. For the most part, I enjoy my job. Then I look at my youngest who will be three in about 4 months and I’m like should I quit my job? There’s other things that would change too. It’s hard. It’s not fun. I’d be a mess when my kids go to college. Atticus, my oldest, already thought it would be funny if I cry when he graduates high school 😅 he’s a turd.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Totally agree. My wife and I are both teachers with two very young daughters. I hate to say this, but sometimes I feel like the summers are more work than teaching full time high school! I realize the newborn and potty training stages are expected to be rough, but these are ages in which travels and downtime are moot. We’ve been able to fit in a road trip and family get togethers, but full time parenting is so much more exhausting than full time teaching. There is a hesitant part of me that is excited for school to start up again! Yet, I also know that this will be Hadley’s last summer as a baby, so I cherish these moments too. A Catch-22!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s obviously different for different people. Summers definitely do require a lot of work and planning especially if you’re making big plans. I hope your summer is great and full of special moments for you and your family!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star