Happy Ash Valentine’s Day 2024

Happy Ash Valentine’s Day!

It’s always so strange when these two holidays are on the same day. Valentine’s Day always seems to be a day of indulgence but Ash Wednesday is a day of fasting. It’s very contradicting.

How did we celebrate?

AJ and I went to dinner earlier in the month. We tried out a new to us restaurant, Vincenzo’s. It’s an Italian restaurant. We enjoyed a couple drinks, apps, pasta, and a dessert. I loved my pesto linguini with grilled chicken, and cherry lime mule! The apps were ok but nothing that stood out or would make me order them again. AJ ordered a trio plate of things and he enjoyed his as well. I can’t remember what drink he ordered. When dessert came, I told AJ to pick. We didn’t totally love the dessert. It wasn’t what we thought it would be and I think that’s what made us not enjoy it as much.

I wanted to dress up a bit for our dinner out. I wore my red bodysuit that’s mesh on top and the sleeves. I paired it with my wide-leg jeans, leather jacket, pointed-toe boots, and a beret. AJ kept it simple and wore a red and black flannel with jeans.

Earlier this week we had heart-shaped ravioli with the kids for dinner. We bought them from Costco. While they were red, they were dye-free. A fun little score on that. As for tonight for dinner, it’s Ash Wednesday, and that means, no meat. We are making a cheese pizza, a vegetable pizza, and mozzarella stuffed pretzels. It’s also church night for the kids. Wednesdays are busy for us.

For gifts for the kids, I keep it pretty simple on Valentine’s Day. I get them some type of chocolate and then buy them books. It’s simple and the kids enjoy it. This year, I upgraded from the little heart box and got each of them a little bit bigger. I didn’t realize exactly how big they were but I was a little shocked when I got them home. I did an order pick-up for them.

At work, I bought my co-workers a mini heart box of chocolates and a “One in a billion” dollar bill chocolate bar. It’s punny funny because we work at a bank. Again, it’s super easy and simple. I’m not breaking the bank by buying these little items. I think in total it was $3-4 per person that I spent. We also have a group of employees throughout our district that do employee engagement things. Our manager came back from his meeting with these cute bags of candy for each of us with a note for Valentine’s Day.

Hope everyone has a great Valentine’s Day and a great start to the Lenten season.


Support me! If you enjoy my content you can now support me monetarily for the price of one coffee. Just click the link ๐Ÿ‘‰ Buy Me a Coffee โ˜•

2 replies to “Happy Ash Valentine’s Day 2024

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day you guys look super cute. Your husband’s beard is super impressive. I love doing cute little things for my coworkers. Now that it’s officially lent, I’ll hide Easter eggs at the restaurant stuffed with candy and scratchers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star